17" Laptop for SONAR?

Page: < 12 Showing page 2 of 2
Author
wthrman
Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 82
RE: 17" Laptop for SONAR? 2005/09/16 16:30:02 (permalink)

Hi Wthrman,

actually if your refering to the 17" P4 laptop they sell its a clevo D900 series.
which actually sucks really bad for audio. this is the same as the Sager 9000 series or the one we sell (D900)
it does rock for gaming and video editing!

Scott
ADK

Hi Scott,

Why do you say that model sucks? (just curious?) I've been using it for a few months now for several large projects and it's been great.

See ya,

Ron
jcschild
Max Output Level: -41 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3409
RE: 17" Laptop for SONAR? 2005/09/16 16:46:47 (permalink)
HI Ron,
try running the ADK Sonar test.

http://www.adkproaudio.com/downloads.cfm

Scott
ADK
samahmusic
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 102
RE: 17" Laptop for SONAR? 2005/09/16 17:02:21 (permalink)
using a sager 17" from www.discountlaptops.com and it is kicking much *ss. I have a desktop dual opteron, and it's performing better than that computer. As a matter of fact, I'm selling that computer, [complete with a Lynx 2 card] so my confidence level is high with the Sager laptop. running Sonar, Cubase, all the spectrasonics stuff, Kontakt, Lounge Lizard, Absynth, etc............tons of vst's and other efx plugins, lots of audio and it's been great. Using the Sager NP 4750 V2 model, specifically, with 2 gig RAM. Also using a Glyph external netdrive via firewire, which has been flawless, as well. Audio interfaces I've been using are the Echo Indigo and the Apogee Mini Me, when I need to record. both have been great, via pcmcia [indigo] and usb [apogee]. Ultimately cost me less than a blown up Athlon 64 3700, with 2 gig RAM from Best Buy would have cost, and that would have had a 4200 rpm HD. The Sager has a 7200 internal. Great warranty and customer support, as well.
Hope that helps

www.samahmusic.com
jcschild