ACT control of envelope in rapture?

Author
weston_hunter
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 15
2007/05/15 20:58:22 (permalink)

ACT control of envelope in rapture?

I just started playing with the Rapture demo, so I'm not familiar with it. I've searched the forums looking for the answer, but I'm not able to find it. Presumably, this question is so basic it's addressed in either the help file or in the forums somewhere -- I'm just too dense to find it.

According to everything written by others, almost everything visible in the Rapture user-interface can be automated. Here's my question: After creating an EG curve, how can I easily setup ACT to control various EG elements? I mainly want to ACT control the time-length of particular segments in a multi-curve EG.

I understand that Rapture's envelope creator goes way beyond what could be done with a simple ADSR interface. However, ADSR lends to very nice realtime control of those 4 elements. I want to know how to get that same level of real-time control using the fancier Rapture EG.

Thanks,

Weston

2 Replies Related Threads

weston_hunter
    Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 15
    RE: ACT control of envelope in rapture? 2007/05/15 21:33:58 (permalink)
    Hi,

I've been playing around a bit more. I discovered that you can use the Modulation Matrix to set the X-Y Pad X and Y source parameters to Volume Attack and Release destination parameters. I then used ACT to map two sliders on my control surface to the X and Y positions on the X-Y Pad. Hence, I can control attack and release using two sliders.

I'm EXTREMELY new to Rapture, so I don't know if this would be considered an appropriate approach to doing this? Ideally, I'd like to be able to arbitrarily use ACT to control the individual EG segments, but this is at least a step in the right direction. Is there a cleaner way of implementing this?

Sorry for asking such a newbie questions.

Cheers,

Weston
    b rock
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS