AD2 and Multiple Tracks

Author
NotASpeckOfCereal
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 50
2017/04/11 00:01:04 (permalink)

AD2 and Multiple Tracks

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to using Addictive Drums and really soft-synth tracks in general, so excuse me if this is a newbie question.

I've been developing a drum track for a project. At one point, I wanted to experiment with some kick sounds in another track, so I CLONED the AD track (so that it would have all the same properties, use the same AD2 Kit and Preset, etc.), then started recording some kick hits while monitoring the original AD track.

I hear doubling, like a comb-filter like effect (both for recording and playback). The doubling goes away if I mute either track, plus it goes away if I reduce the volume to 0 on one of the tracks.

EDIT: I made sure to uncheck the  'Clone Events' so that the there were no duplicate notes, etc.

Today I had time to experiment. Rather than clone a track, I did a new Insert, Soft Synth ... AD2, the brought up the AD UI for that track and selected the saved preset. So it's the same kit and preset, but there is no doubling.

It seems to me that we definitely need to be able to have multiple tracks for our drum kits for things like processing kicks and snares differently than the rest of the kit.

Is cloning a well-known problem / trap for this doubling effect, or did I do it some other way. In general, what do I do to avoid this in the future?

Thanks,
Chris

NotASpeckOfCereal
——————————
Sonar Platinum [2017.01]
UA Apollo Duo FireWire
MOTU MIDI XT USB
Windows 7 Ult 64-bit
Intel i5 @3.40GHz, 32 GB
Guitars, V-Drums, Bass, Synths

4 Replies Related Threads

dwardzala
    Max Output Level: -61 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1470
    Re: AD2 and Multiple Tracks 2017/04/11 12:46:09 (permalink)