Ableton users!!! I want to hear from you!

Author
mikebeam
Max Output Level: -85 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 288
2015/01/16 21:09:58 (permalink)

Ableton users!!! I want to hear from you!

I'm brand new to the electronic music/recording/computer/whatever you call it scene...  I've been a roots musician my whole life and have been blow away with what computers can do since buying Sonar.

I'm investigated Ableton Live 9 and wondering - is it really anything different than Sonar?  What's the difference?  I've made a bunch of midi funk stuff (and it's awesome) - can Ableton do anything more than that?  Is it just another DAW?  I get the Sonar/Protools comparison, but Ableton seems different from the pack.

Enlighten me!  

7 Replies Related Threads

Zo
    Max Output Level: -25 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 5036
    Re: Ableton users!!! I want to hear from you! 2015/01/16 23:24:04 (permalink)
    i find it ok for creation but really to limited for Post production and the PDC (plugin delay compesnsation) when useing a bunch of send gets kaotic

if you have a basic use of a daw it will be ok , if you use it deep ....to limited ...

For sale  (PM me) : transfert ilok included
    Eventide Ultrachannel make offers
    Softube Summit EQ
    IK Neve 1081 , Neve precision Comp/Lim
    EastWest Goshtwriter
    Soundforge Pro 12

Vastman
    Max Output Level: -50 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 2508
    Re: Ableton users!!! I want to hear from you! 2015/01/17 01:38:43 (permalink)
    Try the trial...Fully functional and free for I think 30 days...  you'll see... VERY different. May speak to you... it did to a friend who went that way.  I couldn't grook it after Sonar...

It only takes time to try....and that's the only way you'll really understand 

Dana
    We make the future... Climate Change Music