Allen Heath SQ as controller for CbB?

Author
pgw
Max Output Level: -76 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 705
2018/11/01 14:02:09 (permalink)

Allen Heath SQ as controller for CbB?

Hi! 
I have a AH SQ-5 that I want to use as control surface in CbB/Sonar/Mixbus, but can´t get it to work at all.

Allen Heath´s DAW Control says the SQ-5 is connected and set to Mackie Control protocol.
CbB/Sonar can see all 4 of the SQ-5´s midi-channels.
I set up 2 controls/surfaces in CbB/Sonar as suggested by AH´s "DAW Control Setup Notes"-pdf.

CbB/Sonar´s ACT Module says it´s connecting, but nothing happens.
Being a total newbie when it comes to connecting control surfaces I wonder if it´s a user error (most probably) or something wrong with DAW Control + CbB/Sonar?

Is there anything I need to do on the SQ-5 apart from turning it on?
(Like I wrote: TOTAL newbie)

Marc/mjvidify on the SQ-forum wrote that he had it working using CM Labs Motormix protocol, which I can´t find on the HD - is it perhaps available on an earlier version DVD of Sonar? (I have versions XL to Platinum, except Sonar 4 - I guess I´ll have to dig them out from my cellar)

Windows 10 (LTSB) - i7 8700 - ASUS GTX1060 -16 GB Corsair Vengeance - Samsung SSD´s - Seagate HD´s - RME FF400 - & too many geetars & amps

6 Replies Related Threads

msmcleod
    Max Output Level: -72 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 920
    Re: Allen Heath SQ as controller for CbB? 2018/11/01 14:24:15 (permalink)
    According to the A&H documentation, DAW Control MIDI 1 controls ch 1-8, and DAW Control MIDI 2 controls ch 9-16.

So, within CbB/Sonar, you want to add a "Mackie Control" control surface set to "DAW Control MIDI 1" for both MIDI IN and MIDI OUT.

You then want to add a "Mackie Control XT" control surface set to "DAW Control MIDI 2" for both MIDI IN and MIDI OUT.

You should then open the "Mackie Control 1" menu item from the utilities menu to open up the Mackie Control Dialog.