Altering a Dimension Strings Sound

Author
Mack
Max Output Level: -85 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 264
2005/12/06 09:44:07 (permalink)

Altering a Dimension Strings Sound

Hello,

I am new to Dimension and have what may be a ridiculas question. Here is my problem. I have a song that I wish to add a string section with, but the song tempo is such that the strings can not keep up. What I mean is that I have the ability to play along at the keyboard but the nature of the string sound (slow and dreamy) can't keep up. I guess what I want is for the string to sound when I hit the keyboad note and then stop when I release it without a long hold over. Does this make sense?
I would appreciate any suggestions or guidance with this.
Thanks,
Mack

3 Replies Related Threads

AT
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 10654
    RE: Altering a Dimension Strings Sound 2005/12/06 10:26:36 (permalink)
    Change the string sound to one with a quicker attack?

Or, if your playing is good enough to anticipate, you can play the string part and then slip the midi track forward so that it swells at the proper moment.

Finally, do a John Cale - find a chord that you can hold over (or under) longer.

https://soundcloud.com/a-pleasure-dome
    http://www.bnoir-film.com/  

there came forth little children out of the city, and mocked him, and said unto him, Go up, thou bald head; go up, thou bald head.
    24 And he turned back, and looked on them, and cursed them in the name of the Lord. And there came forth two she bears out of the wood, and tare forty and two children of them.
    xylyx
    Max Output Level: -50 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 2505
    RE: Altering a Dimension Strings Sound 2005/12/06 13:42:00 (permalink)
    Yep, just adjust the Attack and Release times of the Amplitude envelope (A) to shorter times...
    b rock
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 8717
    RE: Altering a Dimension Strings Sound 2005/12/06 18:27:19 (permalink)