Audio Drop outs in Sonar 7 Producer using Windows 7 (64-bit)

Author
guyscohen
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 23
2010/01/21 03:31:20 (permalink)

Audio Drop outs in Sonar 7 Producer using Windows 7 (64-bit)

Hi there

Am a newbie here.

Just upgraded my pc so that it is a high end machine (Intel Core i7 920 2.6GHZ Processor, 3GB DDR3 RAM x 2, Asus P6t I7 Motherboard). Using Sonar 7 Producer Edition with Wondows 7 (64-bit). My firewire is the M-Audio 410 and midi interface cable is a simple class compliant cable (Midimate II).

Am working on a simple song with 1-2 VSTs (from FM8 and Kontack 4) and got a lot of drop outs in playback yesterday although the day before it was all fine. The CPU ruler was also green when this happened. I increased the playback buffers and this worked for a bit but then the problem returned. For some reason the mixing latency is greyed out (maybe because of the midi interface??).

So my questions:
1. Is it because I have new drivers and they take time to settle?
2. Is it because Sonar 7 is not Windows 7 compatible?
3. Is it because the Midimate II is not a very stable midi interface?
4. Something else?

Any help would be much appreciated!

Guy
post edited by guyscohen - 2010/01/21 03:49:07

16 Replies Related Threads

Bule
    Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 102
    Re:Audio Drop outs in Sonar 7 Producer using Windows 7 (64-bit) 2010/01/21 10:09:55 (permalink)
    Make sure you're drivers are set to ASIO in the options menu.

Rig
    HP  dx7500-Core 2 Duo E7500 2.93 GHz
    8 Gb memory, SATA 1TB 7200 64MB, Flatron W1942TE LG,  Steinberg UR44
     USB Interface
    X3 Producer
    Windows 7- 64 bit Sonar Pro 8.5  & X1,X2a,X3- Pro
    guyscohen
    Re:Audio Drop outs in Sonar 7 Producer using Windows 7 (64-bit) 2010/01/21 10:50:16 (permalink)
    Thanks for the reply.