Best "low end" sound card?

Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
Metaphasic
Max Output Level: -85 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 262
2010/09/30 00:35:56 (permalink)

Best "low end" sound card?

I am looking to replace the pos built-in thing my pc has now. I don't need pro grade audio recording, as I won't be doing any. I just need to hear soft synth output.

Having used Creative cards in the past, I was considering the following:

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Creative+-+Sound+Blaster+X-Fi+Titanium+Sound+Card/9716175.p?id=1218172864730&skuId=9716175

It has ASIO drivers, 24 bit depth, and a few other things I like. Does anybody have any experience with this card?

Note: I am a mere home-bound hobbyist.

57 Replies Related Threads

Jim Roseberry
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 9871
    Re:Best "low end" sound card? 2010/09/30 00:52:04 (permalink)
    Skip anything SoundBlaster related...

Get an Audiophile 192, or a Mia MIDI.
    Well under $200, rock-solid drivers, good sound, low round-trip latency

Best Regards,

Jim Roseberry
    jim@studiocat.com
    www.studiocat.com
    Metaphasic
    Re:Best "low end" sound card? 2010/09/30 00:59:16 (permalink)
    Now for a rather important question...

What technical reasons are there against SB cards? The specs on the 192 seem extremely similar to the Titanium.

A technical reason, along with recommendations, would serve me better, though I will look and see if my local vendors even have these other products (no cc so I can't order online, it has to be in a place like best buy).
    Jim Roseberry
    Re:Best "low end" sound card? 2010/09/30 01:13:04 (permalink)
    What technical reasons are there against SB cards? The specs on the 192 seem extremely similar to the Titanium.

Where to start???  
    You can search these and many other audio forums and get 1001 posts that'll tell the story.
    The SB is much better suited to gaming than for audio recording.