Best synth to use for cinematic work

Author
OldDog
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 113
2011/01/12 16:13:31 (permalink)

Best synth to use for cinematic work

I am pretty new to synths as a whole having played bass and guitar most of my life and using synths when I could find a preset I liked.  I have moved from playing in a band toward doing sound tracks for short movies that friends are making and want to continue to expand my horizons in that direction. 

I stumbled upon the Evolve Mutations that Native Instruments carries and find the sounds it produces quite interesting.  However before I invest in that tool I was wondering if it is possible to program one of the synths I have with X1 Pro to give me the same type of sounds?
Again I am new at creating sounds and am working my way through a set of "lessons" on Subtrative Synths and at this point I am not sure if that will even get me where I want to go.  Mainly I am interested in the grainy, abstract, atonal stuff I was hearing.  The stuff which has kind of an Industrial / Horror vibe to it.
Thanks for any direction anyone can give me.
-Harry
post edited by OldDog - 2011/01/12 16:14:53

You can teach an old dog new tricks, it just takes a little longer!

Q9550 overclocked to 3 ghz
8 gig DDR3 ram
Intel Extreme motherboard
CPU & GPU liquid cooled

9 Replies Related Threads

dmbaer
    Max Output Level: -49.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 2585
    Re:Best synth to use for cinematic work 2011/01/12 17:25:29 (permalink)
    While "cinematic work" could mean a lot of different things, here's a suggestion.  Check out Camel Audio's Alchemy.  It's a knockout synth with respect to the rich variety of sounds it can make.  My biggest criticism is that far too many of the sounds (bundled or third party) are suitable for soundscapes/soundtracks (espically if you're doing SF/thriller/suspense/horror accompanyment) but less so for plain old music.