Bluegrass?

Author
davestoy
Max Output Level: -82 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 419
2005/09/03 11:31:09 (permalink)

Bluegrass?

OK, I've never done this before, so I am asking this list for some help, here. I have a Bluegrass/Gospel group coming Sept. 12 to do a session. Now, I've never had to do this kind of group before (OK, expanding my horizons!), so I'm asking this group for advice on how to mic the instruments. They have a dobro, mandolin, ac guitar, upright bass, rhythm guitar. I think the r guitar and the other guitar have electronics built in, so they shouldn't be much of a problem. But what about those others? How close would you place the mic? What angle? Is the 57 the best for those?
I know this isn't many details, but for now, this is all I got. Kinda puts you in the same situation, doesn't it? (not knowing, I mean)
Anyway, I appreciate the help I know is gonna come my way!

David

S8PE
WinXP SP3
P4 2.66 Dual Core Asus P5LD2
3 GB Ram
Radeon X300/X550 series dual video card
RME Multiface II
Mackie Onyx 800R Mic PreAmp
2 internal Glyph Seagate (80GB & 200gb)
1 external Maxtor 120GB HD (for backup)
Dynaudio BM5A

5 Replies Related Threads

glazfolk
    Max Output Level: -22.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 5253
    RE: Bluegrass? 2005/09/03 11:47:32 (permalink)
    ORIGINAL: davestoy
    OK, I've never done this before, so I am asking this list for some help, here. I have a Bluegrass/Gospel group coming Sept. 12 to do a session. Now, I've never had to do this kind of group before (OK, expanding my horizons!), so I'm asking this group for advice on how to mic the instruments. They have a dobro, mandolin, ac guitar, upright bass, rhythm guitar. I think the r guitar and the other guitar have electronics built in, so they shouldn't be much of a problem. But what about those others? How close would you place the mic? What angle? Is the 57 the best for those?