Bounce Question!

Author
Johnataxia
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 12
2013/10/31 14:33:02 (permalink)

Bounce Question!

Hi everyone, Im new here!

I've been using Sonar since year 2000 and I have a few questions that someone could help me to understand.
Im using a Lexicon Omega with Sonar X3. And recording with 24bits 48Khz (best quality that Omega reaches).

I have a 4 track drum take of a song (Glyn John method). No effects applied.
Just pure takes.
I build a definitive drum part with the best parts of diferents takes.
ie: Intro of Take 1, Verse1 of Take 4, etc...
Now I want to bounce each track so I have an entire wave for each track.
And I can clean up a little my audio folder of files of unwanted takes.

What I dont know Is next:

When I bounce, ¿Is that process destructive in any way?
I want to leave any mixing desitions to be consider later, so i dont want to affect in any way that files.
Since my audio Quality is 24/48, have any sence to render to 32 or 64 bits?
Or did I have to configure Sonar to bounce to 24bits that is my sound card quality and my waves quality?

If anyone help me with this It will be great!
Thanks
Cheers.

10 Replies Related Threads

Kalle Rantaaho
    Max Output Level: -5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 7005
    Re: Bounce Question! 2013/10/31 16:15:01 (permalink)
    Bounce to track leaves the original tracks untouched. The bounce dialog lets you choose what to include in the bounce, if you have not included FX, then SONAR doesn't create them out of the sky. The resulting track is identical copy of the original, nothing left out, nothing added.

SONAR PE 8.5.3, Asus P5B, 2,4 Ghz Dual Core, 4 Gb RAM, GF 7300, EMU 1820, Bluetube Pre  -  Kontakt4, Ozone, Addictive Drums, PSP Mixpack2, Melda Creative Pack, Melodyne Plugin etc.
    The benefit of being a middle aged amateur is the low number of years of frustration ahead of you.
    Beepster
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 18001