Building a "dream PC"

Author
rudy
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 4
2006/07/21 13:17:58 (permalink)

Building a "dream PC"

Hi, all, just looking for some feedback.

I've been using MC for several years and LOVE it! But I've had that software loaded on my "main" PC that, too often, gets loaded with other software and now I'm experiencing many dropouts. I suspect it’s because there’s garbage running in the background that’s taking up needed resources. So I'm planning on building a "dream PC" that will be dedicated to nothing but recording.

I have a genuine Intel motherboard with Intel chipset, a Pentium 4 2.8 GHz processor and will be shutting off every feature on the motherboard that might require some nonessential service to be running in the background. I have 512MB of RAM and a 40 GB HDD running @ 7200 RPM.

From everything I've read so far in this forum and other publications that is about the best I can hope for given my budget. My biggest concern at this point and one that I do have an option in changing is the sound card. The motherboard has a built-in Realtek ALC202A audio codec and I would use that if it serves the purpose. But I wonder if, in your opinion, it's better to purchase a separate sound card. If so what might you recommend for a decent sound card that won't break my limited piggy bank?

Also, the majority of recording I do is analog. It is very, very rare that I use MIDI. On the occasions where I have used MIDI I do so by using Edirol's Sound Canvas soft synth and plan on installing that software on this PC, too.

So, if you wanted to build a dedicated PC for the purpose of recording what other suggestions might you offer?

Thanks so much for letting me burrow into your heads - I promise not to scratch your brains once I'm in there.

-Rudy

7 Replies Related Threads

Robomusic
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 8943
    RE: Building a "dream PC" 2006/07/22 02:07:14 (permalink)