CPU speed VS # of vst's perproject

Author
wyndham
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 128
2007/12/18 10:10:52 (permalink)

CPU speed VS # of vst's perproject

I have an athlon that about 1.6-1.7 in speed and 1 gig mem S7 and 2 80g HD and a m audio delta 44. Since I'm just learning the vst side of this new upgrade for me, where is the practical # of vst's and tracks before this type of system bogs down. Example might be a drum track, a real guitar chord track and a Dim Pro guitar plucked melody track.
These are totally hypothetical but with a system like this would some vst's from say a Kontakt player be too much of a cpu burden.
I would like to have at least 3 tracks to work with and since I tend to want a mellow acoustic backing track for a live vocal, not a lot if any extra effects might be needed.
I may be asking an overly simple question but if I need to upgrade first before the VST's it would be helpful to know as well as if some are greater CPU hogs than others.
Thanks Wyndham

21 Replies Related Threads

fac
    Max Output Level: -51 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 2427
    RE: CPU speed VS # of vst's perproject 2007/12/18 11:13:38 (permalink)
    Some VST's require more CPU and RAM resources than others, so it's impossible to give an estimation of how many you can run with your system.

For example, my old DAW was a Pentium 4, 1.4 Ghz with 640 Mb. I could run maybe 3 or 4 instances of z3ta+, or 12 instances of VAZ Plus 2. Another example, I could run 12-16 audio tracks with the Cakewalk EQ, compressor, and gate. Or I could run 32+ tracks with one WaveArts TrackPlug on each (TrackPlug has an EQ, compressor, and gate). Because of this, I bought mostly plugins that were CPU-efficient, and still use them, even though I have a more powerful system now.