Cakewalk UA-1G

Author
jonnyx
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 6
2010/05/21 12:17:17 (permalink)

Cakewalk UA-1G

Im fairly new to recording so I might be a little lacking on a proper explanation of my issue.  I have the Cakewalk UA-1G and im using it to record from my turntable.  The peak indicator on the device starts to blinks a little past the half way mark, leaving for low volume recordings.  If I turn it up on the device, the peak indicator is red, but it does not seem to actually peak in my recording.  I guess my question is, if the peak indicator light is blinking/staying red but im not clipping while recording, is it safe to turn the volume up on the soundcard even though the light is red?  Thanks for any help on this.  Like I said, im new to sound. 

9 Replies Related Threads

8 ohm
    Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 51
    Re:Cakewalk UA-1G 2010/05/21 14:58:09 (permalink)
    Different companies have differnt specs when it comes to peak LEDs.

In most Roland products Ive used, the peak LED will light up about 3-4dB before the signal actually reached 0dB clipping point.

Trust your ears over your eyes.

Once the track is recorded into Sonar, Check that the highest level does not exceed 0dB. If it does clip, reduce the preamp gain and try again.

You will get to know the 'sweet spot' of your UA-1G with some time and experience.

If you find that the signal is a strong, like -16-12dB RMS, but is quiet on playback, turn up your soundcard output or speakers.
    Chappel
    Max Output Level: -52.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 2300
    Re:Cakewalk UA-1G 2010/05/27 12:16:45 (permalink)
    jonnyx