Can I do this with SFZ?

Author
Melvin J
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 31
2006/07/15 13:50:54 (permalink)

Can I do this with SFZ?

I would like to build up a custom kit in Dimension Pro. Specifically I would like to get my favorite kick sound and put on one key, then a perfect snare on another key and so on until I have a custom set mapped across the entire keyboard, all with seperate EQ's, EG's, effects and whatnot. Is this possible? I'm very new to SFZ and don't know much about it yet. I went to http://www.rgcaudio.com/sfzformat.htm and have been learning bits and pieces here and there.

9 Replies Related Threads

cb8rwh
    Max Output Level: -79 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 593
    RE: Can I do this with SFZ? 2006/07/15 14:02:40 (permalink)
    You can certainly map the different hits across the keyboard. Separate eqs yes i think so, separate Effects no - but you could split the hits across the 4 elements of Dim Pro - e.g. kick - element 1, snare - element 2, etc meaning that you could apply different effects to each element.

I am going to try this with Rapture - 6 elements!!!
    Melvin J
    RE: Can I do this with SFZ? 2006/07/15 14:50:01 (permalink)
    What about panning different samples within the same element? I have Rapture as well, I can't wait to really understand this whole SFZ thing and begin to utilize it effectively. I'm sure it will really open these synths up for me.
    cb8rwh
    Max Output Level: -79 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 593
    RE: Can I do this with SFZ? 2006/07/15 15:07:11 (permalink)
    yeah you could set the pan inside the sfz file for each sample/layer - just wait fo rsomeone with more knowledge than me to come along for a better answer. Shouldn't be too long
    lawapa
    Max Output Level: -68 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1144
    RE: Can I do this with SFZ? 2006/07/15 18:15:16 (permalink)