Can MIDI pattern files be imported into P5?

Author
LKDog
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 150
2004/01/21 14:07:26 (permalink)

Can MIDI pattern files be imported into P5?

I was wondering if existing MIDI files can be imported into P5, particularly of drum tracks that I already have from Drumtrax 3.0, or other apps.

The "pattern" files in P5 have their own file extension I see.
Is there a way to import standard one track MIDI drum paterns?
I am kind of new at working with softsynths so I aplogize if I am missing something here.
Thanks again in advance for your help.

8 Replies Related Threads

jardim do mar
    Max Output Level: -66 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1247
    RE: Can MIDI pattern files be imported into P5? 2004/01/21 14:16:06 (permalink)
    Click on file then click on import,, notice the file types,, load a midi pattern you want,, P5 can also import multitrack midi files , you have the option of inserting the parts on one track or multi tracks.. After importing your midi file in the track view right click and select replace synth,, now you have the option of routing your midi file through a different synth,,,, also if you wish to save your file as .ptn a p5 ext.. just click save file in the P-seq.. it's done automatically,,,
    < Message edited by jardim do mar -- 1/21/2004 2:25:41 PM >
    LKDog
    RE: Can MIDI pattern files be imported into P5? 2004/01/21 22:36:04 (permalink)
    Thanks for the help.
    I was looking in Import Audio and overlooked the Import drop down choice.
    Kind of silly on my part.
    I did load a pattern into a track and then inserted a synth.
    The MIDI notes did not show up in P-seq. Are they supposed to?
    I tried Npulse, then Velocity for the imported drum patterns.
    I had no idea if I was going to get any notes or not.
    This happens to me even when I load a P5 .ptn
    drum pattern (Trance,Philly,NPulse).