Compressor Settings for Mastering, Vocals and Instruments

Author
spindlebox
Max Output Level: -49 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2645
2008/10/01 07:40:18 (permalink)

Compressor Settings for Mastering, Vocals and Instruments

OK, so I'm really trying to get my head around compressor settings - along with my rudimentary practical knowledge about what the settings do. I am just beginning to be able to HEAR changes that are made and the pros/cons of them.

I've actually found a pretty useful resource, albeit general, in "Home Recording for Musicians for DUMMIES" It provides some general settings for compressors for different instruments/voice. For instance:

ELECTRIC GUITAR T: -1dB; R: (Betw.) 2:1 and 3:1; A: 25ms to 30ms; R ~200ms; G adjust I/O equally
ELECTRIC BASS T: -4dB; R: (Betw.) 2.5:1 and 3:1; A: 40ms to 50ms; R ~180ms; G adjust I/O equally
ACOUSTIC GUITAR T: -6dB; R: (Betw.) 3:1 and 4:1; A: 150ms; R ~400ms; G adjust I/O equally

VOCALS
(to even out vocal performance)
T: -8dB; R: (Betw.) 1.5:1 and 2:1; A: <1ms; R ~40ms; G adjust I/O equally
(to bring vox way out front in mix)
T: -2dB; R: (Betw.) 4:1 and 6:1; A: <1ms; R ~40ms; G adjust I/O equally

. . . so . . .

Surprisingly there's nothing about mastering and what tweaking certain levels do like there is briefly in the vocals department.

I'm not really looking for a magic bullet, but just a starting point. There MUST be a resource somewhere that's a bit more thorough than this. I have tried some of these settings, particularly the VOCALS and have noticed favorable results.

As far as mastering; I've used SONITIS FX "complete mix" and have lowered the RATIO to about 1.5; I've found that much above that produces discernable changes and squashing. I guess my objective with the mastering compression is to get things to even out and make as loud as possible, though not ridiculously so as to squash dynamics (i.e., Metallica's new album).