Connecting guitar to computer

Author
David 74
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2
2007/11/04 22:51:11 (permalink)

Connecting guitar to computer

Hi there, apologies for such a basic question but I am new to Sonar and wanting to get some views on the best way to connect my guitar to my PC. I am considering three options:

- E-MU 0404 USB audio interface, using the USB input on my computer;
- Behringer Ultra-DI DI100 (do you plug this into the mic input on the computer? What cable do you use for this?)
- Behringer VAMP2 (same questions as for Ultra DI)

I am looking for a simple set-up - not going through any amps or a mixing console - basically just to plug the guitar into the computer via something that will will ensure good clean sound and line levels.

I would be interested in any views on this, and any other set ups people are using.

Thanks very much.

4 Replies Related Threads

CJaysMusic
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 30423
    RE: Connecting guitar to computer 2007/11/05 03:06:09 (permalink)
    E-MU 0404 USB audio interface, using the USB input on my computer;
    - Behringer Ultra-DI DI100 (do you plug this into the mic input on the computer? What cable do you use for this?)
    - Behringer VAMP2 (same questions as for Ultra DI)

From what you listed the emu is the best bet.

Behringer Ultra-DI DI100 (do you plug this into the mic input on the computer? What cable do you use for this?)

You dont want to do that. you dont want to use the onboard sound card for anything. Its not meant for audio recroding and it has terrible A/D conversions and the drivers stink for them. Thats why the EMU is the best bet. Its an audio sound card thats built for audio recording.
    The V-amp would be good in combination with the EMU. you would use the analog out of the v amp and plug it into the inputs of the emu.
    Cj