Constant hiss sound while recording, and on recording

Author
ryhad15
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 4
2010/01/19 04:32:25 (permalink)

Constant hiss sound while recording, and on recording

Hey so I am new to recording, i have Sonar Home studio 7. an alesis multi-mix 8 USB, a hp pavillion DV6 series lap top with core duo and all that stuff.

When I record, there is a constant hiss coming through from the mixer and onto the recordings. I turned down the gain on it, downed the main mix and levels, aux returns for effects, and turned on the HPF switch, messed with latencys on the program itself, and it still sounds through.

No matter what I do I cannot get it to go away, its not a problem if im recording heavy rock or metal with drums, but when doing just clean vocals, and clean guitar, i hear the static hiss sound all too well. No matter how much EQ'ing i do, i cannot get rid of it.

Can anyone please help with any advice for me at all?
The mixer is plugged straight into my PCs USB port, and im recording my guitar and vocals with a Shure SM-57, and a regular XLR cable, and no the phantom power is not on.

Ive tried other mics, and get the same hiss with each one.

Please help me!

6 Replies Related Threads

Kalle Rantaaho
    Max Output Level: -5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 7005
    Re:Constant hiss sound while recording, and on recording 2010/01/19 06:15:20 (permalink)
    Now it's important to define "hiss".

If it's really hiss, it's hard to guess what could be the cause. I guess it to be equipment based, but also mic recordings of too low level  often include hiss. I wonder if trying some mic pre amp could share light on this?

I haven't used the equipment you have, but make also sure that the level settings are made in the mixer/soundcard. If you have a very low input level in the soundcard which you're compensating with high output level in SONAR the result can in some cases be hissy (uh..or was the opposite way..?).