Couple of Q's from a noob!

Author
THERAKED
Max Output Level: -85 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 283
2006/04/17 21:07:17 (permalink)

Couple of Q's from a noob!

I ordered DimensionPro and it'll be here tommorow. I have a question about the install. I have a newly built computer, about three weeks old, AMD Athalon64 3700+, 4g's of ram, and an 80g sata drive. The only software I have installed is Xp, GearBox(Line6 guitar modeling), SHS4, and JamStix(virtual drummer). I know that it's best to have a seperate HD for storing project audio, but I only have the one, right now. Should I just install DP with no modifications or should I try to create a seperate partition? Would it make a difference? I'm only asking because 7g's seems like a lot! By the way, that computer isn't, nor ever will be, online. Do I need it to be connected to internet or can I just register it with my internet computer?

Ok, here's another question. I hope you can help!

I'm relatively new to all of this, ecspecially the midi aspect. Up until now, the only midi type thing that I've used is JamStix. I'll insert JamStix as a Dxi and then record bass, guitar, and vocals. Last night I had the most awesome drum track(with JS) and slap bass groove, I added some clean guitar with a funky wah-wah, but then I got greedy and wanted to try to lay some Keyboard stuff on it, using the Dreamstation or VSC that came with SHS4, but when I inserted the Dreamstation as a Dxi, I couldn't hear any of the sounds, so I tried clicking around, only to accidently remove the JamStix application, for some reason there wasn't an auto-save copy, which there usually is every five minutes, needless to say, the whole thing was jacked up and I had to give up on it, which was fine, because it was just a jam for fun, but I don't want that to ever happen to me when I'm in the middle of a serious project. I know that this is long, but my question is, is possible to have more than one Dxi at a time. Are there some tricks that I should know, so