Cracking Audio on Vocal Track With USB Mic.

Author
LostInStereo
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1
2011/01/30 22:22:12 (permalink)

Cracking Audio on Vocal Track With USB Mic.

I'm very new to recording and well i just got myself Sonar X1 and a Blue Yeti USB mic. I have looked all over the place for answers and i just cant find any. I have an Alienware M15x computer. No upgrades or anything. I Plugged the USB mic in and adjusted a few settings here and there, after not getting any playback sound. Turned off the laptop internal mic and turned off the audio output from the USB mic. Adjusted volume levels within Sonar and without. But i still get this awful cracking sound behind everything that is recording. Help.
Running on Windows 7 x64 not sure if that changes anything.
post edited by LostInStereo - 2011/01/30 22:27:40

9 Replies Related Threads

Lanceindastudio
    Max Output Level: -29 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 4604
    Re:Cracking Audio on Vocal Track With USB Mic. 2011/01/30 22:31:39 (permalink)
    USB mics can be a problem... I can suggest one thing for now.

Try raising the latency settings in sonar. If you search latency in help, you will find the way to adjust latency settings.

Are you using on board sound card or do you have some kind of audio interface?

I will strongly suggest ditching the usb mic and getting a regular condenser mic and a good interface with good drives.

Check out the following for great results, even at low latency, and they have phantom power an decent preamps so you will be ready to record:

http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/Echo-AudioFire2-FireWire-Audio-Interface?sku=245640

http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/M-Audio-Fast-Track-Ultra-8R-USB-Interface?sku=482555

Two mics I suggest that sound good and cost very little:

http://www.pssl.com/MXL-SP1-Condenser-Studio-Microphone-With-Clip
    (only available online, this is the best deal, this mic is surprisingly smooth)