Dim Pro/Le - Shouldn't something you create in Dim Pro sound the same in Dim LE?

Author
karmagician
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 5
2009/10/01 22:18:44 (permalink)

Dim Pro/Le - Shouldn't something you create in Dim Pro sound the same in Dim LE?

Hi, I'm a developer working on a project that will be ultimately distributed with/for the Dimension LE Plug-in. As such, I am programming some sounds on Dimension Pro, and then loading them into Dimension Le for testing as this is what the majority of end-users will have.

Shouldn't these sound exactly the same? It was my understanding that Dim LE is a player that will load and play any Dim Pro program (assuming the multisounds are available, of course).

Yet, I am hearing significant differences between something I program in Dim Pro, and the same thing loaded into Dim Le.

I can't totally narrow it down, but it seems as if the Element Effect settings do not carry over correctly (I'm talking about the Effect that is part of each Element, that you cannot see in Dim Le.)

For example, I worked on a Pad using the Phased Delay effect, and I made a really cutting phase/filter with high reso, yet loading the finished program into Dim Le, it sounds "watered down" compared to the original. The edge is off of the filter, it's like the resonance is dialed down or something.

Another time, I created some exaggerated EQ settings in Dim Pro. Saving it and loading it into Dim Le, it did not sound the same at all - it's like the EQ settings were half of what I had set them to be.

I'm using Dimension Pro 1.2 on Windows XP. Sure would be nice if you could find the exact version number of Dim Pro and Dim Le in the "splash screen". Checking on the hard drive, the dll versions are: Dim Pro: 1.2.1.34442, and Dim LE: 1.2.0.69

Any ideas on this?

Thanks,
Karmagician

6 Replies Related Threads

slartabartfast
    Max Output Level: -22.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 5289