Do MP3 & WAV files contain audio?

Author
jarogers
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 10
2010/08/04 12:49:21 (permalink)

Do MP3 & WAV files contain audio?

Please forgive me for being a total novice when it comes to computer audio. This is a basic question and I hope someone can steer me in the right direction. I am wondering if MP3 and WAV files use a computer's sound card to produce the sound or are they independent. I assume they contain their own audio within the files since they can be played back on MP3 players and such. Am I correct in thinking that the computer's sound card is important when it comes to making MP3 and WAV files and that a low quality sound card will produce a low quality file that will sound bad when played back, but that the MP3 or WAV file can be played back independent of a computer sound card?

13 Replies Related Threads

ohhey
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 11676
    Re:Do MP3 & WAV files contain audio? 2010/08/04 13:21:54 (permalink)
    jarogers

Please forgive me for being a total novice when it comes to computer audio. This is a basic question and I hope someone can steer me in the right direction. I am wondering if MP3 and WAV files use a computer's sound card to produce the sound or are they independent. I assume they contain their own audio within the files since they can be played back on MP3 players and such. Am I correct in thinking that the computer's sound card is important when it comes to making MP3 and WAV files and that a low quality sound card will produce a low quality file that will sound bad when played back, but that the MP3 or WAV file can be played back independent of a computer sound card?

The audio is inside the file and it has a header area for information like the ID3 tags but it's just one big file. The player knows how to pull out just the audio and play it.