Helpful ReplyDrum Loops or Drum Programs?

Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
JustGotPaid
Max Output Level: -78 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 628
2016/09/26 10:59:46 (permalink)

Drum Loops or Drum Programs?

It appears that most people who are serious about drums use the popular drum programs like EZ Drummer, Superior Drummer, Addictive Drums, Session Drums, etc. I have several of these two and have worked with them but I never was convinced that they sounded any better or were any better in other ways than good drum loops, such as Drums on Demand.
     Personally, I'm not a drummer and I'm not a programmer, and I've never really liked working with midi. I can't imagine ever working with the piano roll or drum maps, or anything above entry level use.  I'm not going to go in and adjust settings for each individual drum and mix them, and go to any kind of elaborate or even semi-elaborate procedure. All of that is its own specialty and art.
     We've always gotten a great tone with Drums on Demand, and other loops too, especially now that there are so many presets on reverb and EQ to really make them pop. I can't imagine any basic beat or drum part that a drum program can do that I can't find something exactly or very close to it on Drums on Demand. Some people have all the ability and patience to sit there and program drugs and work with maps and midi stuff, but that's just not me. However, I don't mind working with loops and even slicing and dicing them for different beats or patterns, fill, turnarounds, etc. that I need. 
     The friend I collaborate with the most also uses Sonar and various loops including Drums on Demand, and we're trying to keep as much as we can on our DAWs the same so we can swap projects back and forth if I want to add a guitar or he adds bass, or if either of us wants to tinker a little with the drum EQ or reverb. I don't see either of us ever getting seriously into drum programming or working with drum maps or a lot of midi.