Helpful ReplyEQ TIPS ?

Author
blu lacez
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 26
2014/09/11 02:23:07 (permalink)

EQ TIPS ?

What tips do you guys use on Sonar, or woudl you guys utllize external plugins??
Im liking the qaudcore on Soanr X3 . However, Im still fighting with the dirty bass on vocals. How do they make the vocals so smooth, ne tips?

By the way, I do not use any external plugins, just in house-i.e the plugins that come with X3.

Sonar Version: X3 64 bit
Audio Interface: M-Audio ProFire 2626L 
Computer: Windows7  Pro x64

Kalle Rantaaho
Max Output Level: -5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 7005
Re: EQ TIPS ? 2014/09/11 06:20:48 (permalink)
Are you fighting to build dirty bass on vocals or to get rid of it? :o) Well, I read it you're aiming at smoothness.
First thing first: Is it due to the microphone or mic technique?
Are you double tracking the vocals, artificially or  real?
What's your workflow/FX chain like?

I'm just an amateur, but as there is no one trick, you need to give us some idea of what and how you're doing things.

SONAR PE 8.5.3, Asus P5B, 2,4 Ghz Dual Core, 4 Gb RAM, GF 7300, EMU 1820, Bluetube Pre  -  Kontakt4, Ozone, Addictive Drums, PSP Mixpack2, Melda Creative Pack, Melodyne Plugin etc.
The benefit of being a middle aged amateur is the low number of years of frustration ahead of you.
Sanderxpander
Max Output Level: -36.5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3873
Re: EQ TIPS ? 2014/09/11 06:55:09 (permalink)
Some people prefer external EQs for various reasons, but there is no reason you shouldn't be able to get good results with the QuadCurve. It sounds like you have a lot of proximity effect going on in the recording. As was already suggested, different mic technique can help. If that is no option you can try rolling off a lot of lows and automating when. Alternatively, you could try a MultiBand compressor like the Sonitus one and set it to compress the lows.
Guitarpima
Max Output Level: -34 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 4125