Editing music with lyrics

Author
jlaveaux
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3
2010/07/04 23:38:07 (permalink)

Editing music with lyrics

I am new to this software and music mixing all together. I am a cheer coach trying to create some sompetition music. I have some great audio but need to take out bits of lyrics and add new ones, does anyone know how to do this or can offer any tips? Any help would be appreciated.

4 Replies Related Threads

57Gregy
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 14404
    Re:Editing music with lyrics 2010/07/05 00:11:56 (permalink)
    Sure. It's easy.
    There's a tool that looks like a little pair of scissors; called the 'Split' tool.
    Another tool that looks like a little grid; called the Snap-To grid. This is used to set the Snap-to resolution (to place the Now time marker [the vertical bar that shows the current position in the song] at a more precise point). It's set to Whole or Measure by default, so if you click anywhere in a measure, it will place the Now line on the nearest measure.
    You can set the Snap-to resolution to a very small resolution in order to place the Now time where you want it, and to split a clip exactly where you want it.
    So, set the Snap-to resolution to 1/16, or 1/32; click the Split tool; click in the track just before the part you want to remove, and just after that part. That will segregate the to-be-removed part into its own little clip. Turn the Split tool off. Right-click the little clip and select Edit>Delete.
    Then arm another audio track to record, click the Record button, and record the new part on the new track at the place you want it.