A question for yep...

Author
Peter Rabbit
Max Output Level: -64 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1305
2007/03/20 15:01:13 (permalink)

A question for yep...

Hi yep,
This is kind of a long post so I’ll apologize for that in advance.

Most of the time I post in the MC forum even though I’ve been using Sonar PE for about 2 years, so you probably aren’t familiar with me but I have been following your posts for quite some time and you have been a huge help to me as well as others who post in the MC forum whether you’re aware of that or not.

Anyway I purchased a pair of E-MU PM5 monitors recently primarily based on a couple of your posts because I both trust and respect your opinions. Here are your posts if you’d like to refresh your memory:

1. This was the first post I noticed:
http://forum.cakewalk.com/tm.asp?m=942194&mpage=1&key=monitors

2. This was the second post where you mentioned them again. You have to scroll down the thread a bit to get to your post:
http://forum.cakewalk.com/tm.asp?m=967351&mpage=1&key=monitors

Now, I understand that everyone’s room is going to be set up differently and no two rooms are going to have the same acoustics. I also understand that I should be doing tone testing procedures in my home studio to determine the strengths and weaknesses of my particular set up and then install traps and such to compensate for any peaks and dips in frequencies and to achieve a result that would be as close to a flat frequency response as possible. But since I’ve just plopped down a huge sum of money on new monitors and also a Motif ES8 I’ve been told by my other half that I’m not allowed to spend any more money on any more recording gear for awhile. This includes even a cheap SPL meter. So, that being said, I’m hoping you might be able to help me by telling me what you’ve noticed with these monitors and perhaps give me few tips.