Drum track methodology for trip hop

Author
auricle
Max Output Level: -81 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 492
2007/03/30 10:48:23 (permalink)

Drum track methodology for trip hop

I want to start writing trip hop music but I am unsure about how to produce the drum parts.

The best method would be to produce my own but to be honest I am not very good at creating drum tracks, they sound pretty naff, saying that, I don't want to use the same loops that everyone else uses.

I have Battery 3 which is absolutely great for the drum sounds themselves. I have tried the Jamstix demo which seems great at adding various realistic randomness and can be used as a host for Battery to use its sounds.

The other way is to use Stylus RMX with perhaps S.A.G.E. liquid grooves but I have never tried it and there is no demo available. It seems rather expensive to buy it just to try it but everyone seems to rave about it.

What do you recommend? Is there anybody there producing similar music? What do you use?

6 Replies Related Threads

ba_midi
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 14061
    RE: Drum track methodology for trip hop 2007/03/30 12:08:04 (permalink)
    As a quick start, I'd say try to use some pre-existing MIDI drum parts/loops.
    If you have Project 5, it comes with a a ton. But you can use them in almost any CW product.

ORIGINAL: auricle

I want to start writing trip hop music but I am unsure about how to produce the drum parts.

The best method would be to produce my own but to be honest I am not very good at creating drum tracks, they sound pretty naff, saying that, I don't want to use the same loops that everyone else uses.

I have Battery 3 which is absolutely great for the drum sounds themselves. I have tried the Jamstix demo which seems great at adding various realistic randomness and can be used as a host for Battery to use its sounds.