from an absolute beginner

Author
telegramsam1
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3
2007/08/22 17:05:14 (permalink)

from an absolute beginner

All right, at the risk of embarrassing myself, I'm going to ask a few questions here. First, here's some info:

What operating system you are using: Windows XP
What MC program you have: MC4
How fast is the processor: Pentium 4 3.06 Ghz
How much memory is installed: 448 GB of RAM
What sound card(s) {for Robo} are installed: Realtek High Definition Audio (at least from what I can tell)

In another forum, someone used the analogy of a burro running the Kentucky Derby while discussing sound cards. I purchased Music Creator 4 a couple of days ago and am feeling a bit like someone who bought a Lambourghini to drive to the grocery store.

For the most part, I've done absolutely nothing before with music electronically. I bought GoldWave to change my LPs to digital, and soon discovered I could cut, paste, and otherwise alter music files to create my own remixes. After completing one track that I was quite satisfied with, I quickly realized how incredibly limited and time consuming using GoldWave would be, and thus purchased Music Creator 4.

So, the first thing I tried with MC4 was to import an MP3 track to cut up, mess with, etc. just to get a hang of the tools. Immediately I was struck with how awful the MP3 sounded when played with MC4. It was full of clicks and other distortions. Nothing I've tried remedies this problem. Why does the MP3 sound so bad?

MC4 has synths and drum maps. Can I actually create music with these tools, or do I still need an external music keyboard to imput raw notes/data that these tools can then alter?

Thanks in advance for any help that can be given.

6 Replies Related Threads

Beagle
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 50621
    RE: from an absolute beginner 2007/08/22 18:07:55 (permalink)
    WOW! a newbie who's done his homework! I'm impressed!