Recording Guitar

Author
philo156
Max Output Level: -82 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 429
2007/10/18 23:51:10 (permalink)

Recording Guitar

Hello folks. I could use some of the expertise on this forum.

I am a guitarist and have been doing DAW recording for about three years now. Because I enjoy writing different kinds of stuff (Jazz/Funk/World/Orchestral) I have been slowly (limited funds) building up a sound library of just about everything else but things related to the guitar.

The problem now is that I feel that the sound of my guitar tracks aren't on par with the sounds that I am surrounding it with - so I need to get a better hardware setup. Right now I have the following:

I use a Fender Twin Reverb (which is great) mic'd with a Rode NTA-1 into a Mobile Pre (which I bought when I first got Sonar - not really knowing what I needed for the guitar). I also use the Revalver in Sonar to add some edge when needed and and it actually works pretty well for that.

So can I ask some of you what you would change first and with what? I guess the obvious thing is the Mobile Pre and wondered what you guys might recommend and why. But any comments about this configuration would be greatly appreciated.

All opinions welcome! Thanks.

23 Replies Related Threads

Rev. Jem
    Max Output Level: -58 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1723
    RE: Recording Guitar 2007/10/19 00:43:55 (permalink)
    Can't fault the Mobile Pre unless we're getting really nit-picky about converters which I don't think is your problem.

Room treated OK ?

How much have you experimented with mic placement (near, far, mid-way, direct, angled) ?

Have you tried other mics ? Many people favour dynamics over large diaphragm condensers such as the NT-1A due to their earlier top roll-off.

How about using an SM57 either with the Rode or another dynamic ?

Mike Senior wrote a fab article in SOS a few months ago on recording electric guitars that's well worth reading.
    philo156