solo guitarist

Author
pkonya
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2
2008/03/14 09:38:37 (permalink)

solo guitarist

I posted this in home studio and didn't get much response. I thought I'd try here-

A little history first. I am a solo guitarist who in the past have done strictly solo work, played with a bass player, another guitarist as a duo, you get the picture. Several years ago I was down at Lake of the Ozarks (Missouri) where I heard a solo act using a midi backup system (Dale Blue??). I decided to give it a try. I got a copy of Cakewalk, some pre-programmed midi and have been figuring it out ever since. I found that cakewalk wouldn’t let me start/stop using a midi pedal, so I downloaded a trial version of sonar. I’ve been using it ever since. The trial version lets me use my midi pedal to start/stop. I mix the midi tracks (mute tracks, etc.), run from my laptop to a Roland XV2020 sound module, then to my PA where I mix my guitar and vocals live. The through midi from the XV2020 the goes to my midiverb for effects. I am using an ART midi pedal (midi in at the XV2020). I have several questions:
-Is there a better way? I am always looking to improve sound quality, shorten set up, etc..
- I currently am putting my set together song by song each night I play. I have tried using the set list and load all my songs at once, but am having trouble keeping the lyrics page up front. It is always going somewhere else. I’m trying to to do this hands free, and can’t really stop in the middle to look for it.
- My laptop is old (windows 98). I do have another new computer available for use that runs Vista. I am thinking about finally purchasing a real version of sonar. Does Sonar Home let you program globals like start/stop so I can use my midi pedal? I know the more expensive versions have more bells and whistles, but I don’t think I need them.