Best symphonic virtual instrument? GPO, MOTU, EeatWest... Any advice?

Author
Bansaw
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 116
2008/08/15 14:26:35 (permalink)

Best symphonic virtual instrument? GPO, MOTU, EeatWest... Any advice?

I am thinking about buying a good symphonic instrument and have read some reviews and heard on-line samples of GPO, MOTU and EastWest.

I'm a video editor masquerading as someone who knows something about music (!) so I consider myself no more than intermediate quality. I mean, I've played keyboard and guitar in front of an audience as part of a group but as for composing, I am somewhat new to it.
I'd like to create sound tracks for some of the videos I'm doing.

Anyway, I am considering GPO because other people recommend it and the price is right, but I am worried about spending a lot of time in post adding effects and tweaking the sound, eg: panning, reverb etc etc.
Has anyone got GPO? Is it true that to get the most out of it you've got to fiddle with it a lot in post?
And, is it true that the volume of the sound can only be controlled by the mod-wheel (not the actual key velocity) which means you've got to play one-handed?

MOTU Symphonic I heard was was not so good and hungry on resources...

EastWest I'm leaning toward because it's more "out of the box" which doesn't require me to spend lots of time in post tweaking it.
But there's so much choice, Gold version, Platinum, Platinum Pro XP(!). I'm confused as to which one to buy.

Does anyone own all three, or can give me some advice?

Thanks,,
post edited by Bansaw - 2008/08/15 15:37:41

5 Replies Related Threads

michael japan
    Max Output Level: -22.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 5252
    RE: Best symphonic virtual instrument? GPO, MOTU, EeatWest... Any advice? 2008/08/15 21:13:02 (permalink)