Sync MIDI to Audio

Author
don0518
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 26
2008/09/09 21:40:39 (permalink)

Sync MIDI to Audio

Hi!

I'm new with Synchronization. I have a audio clip of a pre-recorded song. I've written a drum track like the one on the audio track. Now I want to align my new midi drum track to the audio track so they both have the same tempo. i.e. I want to adjust the tempo of the midi track to the audio track. How do I do this? I thought I had seen this done before on one of the you-tube video presentations. Please use steps as I said I'm new to this. Thanks.

Don

6 Replies Related Threads

daveny5
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 16934
    RE: Sync MIDI to Audio 2008/09/09 21:49:28 (permalink)
    Now I want to align my new midi drum track to the audio track so they both have the same tempo. i.e. I want to adjust the tempo of the midi track to the audio track.

You can't really do that very easily. You may be able to sync the audio to the MIDI using audio-snap, but it would be easier and probably better to re-record the project recording the MIDI tracks first. Then record the audio tracks using the MIDI track as your guide.
    post edited by daveny5 - 2008/09/09 21:50:46

Dave
    Computer: Intel i7, ASROCK H170M, 16GB/5TB+, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, Sonar Platinum, TASCAM US-16x08, Cakewalk UM-3G MIDI I/F
    Instruments: SL-880 Keyboard controller, Korg 05R/W, Korg N1R, KORG Wavestation EX
    Axes: Fender Stratocaster, Line6 Variax 300, Ovation Acoustic, Takamine Nylon Acoustic, Behringer GX212 amp, Shure SM-58 mic, Rode NT1 condenser mic.
    Outboard: Mackie 1402-VLZ mixer, TC Helicon VoiceLive 2, Digitech Vocalist WS EX, PODXTLive, various stompboxes and stuff. 
    Controllers: Korg nanoKONTROL, Wacom Bamboo Touchpad
    don0518
    Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 26
    RE: Sync MIDI to Audio 2008/09/09 22:02:44 (permalink)
    Thanks for your response, Dave.