Moving from GM to VST

Author
Awaken98
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2
2008/09/11 00:23:13 (permalink)

Moving from GM to VST

Hi,

I occasionally tinker with MIDI using a small (almost "toy") keyboard and the ancient software that came with it, Voyetra MIDI Orchestrator Plus, circa 1995. It is rendered via a Sound Blaster card with Creative's 8MB sf2 bank. Certainly not a pro setup, but good enough for my needs. I do have *some* standards, though, and can't just use the MS Wavetable Synth built into Vista!

I'd rather not be tied to the Creative hardware, though, so I'm looking for alternatives that are roughly the same quality as the 8MB GM bank I've used. I've never tried VSTs or VST hosting software before, so I've been trying to sort out how that works via the demo version of Sonar 7, and a lite edition of Cubase (1.5, an older version) that came bundled with a sound card. From reading the docs and tutorials, it sounds like I would like the "Universal Sound Module" VST that comes with cubase as a first step past a GM soundfont. Sanity check: am I right? Unfortunately, I'm getting no sound output from this VST in either program, though I've followed the tutorials, and I do get sound with another simple VST, so I don't think I'm going about the process incorrectly. Is there a different but comparable free/demo VST I can find so I can hear what quality level I'm talking about here?

As an alternative, I would be happy enough just to find a software MIDI driver that plugs into Windows' MIDI architecture the way a hardware driver does, if there is a decent GM bank for it or it accepts sf2's. Creative has done this with their laptop cards, emulating their hardware renderer in software, so I imagine there must be others around.

I'm a little bit lost hitting the wide world of VSTs for the first time, and I'm keeping in mind that for $80, I can just buy a new X-Fi Ti and skip the problem entirely. Any advice for someone lost in past decades of MIDI?