Opinions Needed

Author
Nutty
Max Output Level: -54.5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2056
2008/09/14 22:15:45 (permalink)

Opinions Needed

I am recording an old song I did with my former DAW before I knew anything about recording. I posted this when I first joined this forum and the consenus was issues with the vocals. The biggest comment was that there were a lot of words to squeeze in. Since I love the lyrics I decided to change the song format a little. I reduced the tempo and added an extra measure between the verses and between the verses and chorus. I had one inbetween the chourus parts as well, but I didn't like it there as it broke up the flow (before "hold your hand out"). I'm wondering if I have taken it to far. Is it better with just redoing the first version or keep the slower, more spaced out version? And I hope I don't get 50/50 as I'm not that good at making decisions these days.

I've posted the songs on my sound click page Let Me Out (old) and Let Me Out (new).

Now for fun, I did a couple of tracks with the electric guitar. I just played the chords and mindlessly picked here and there. When other people do that, it sounds great. When I do it, it seems to stick out like a sore thumb. I couldn't come up with any unique pattern yet. With the added measures, it really needs the guitar fill-ins. If anyone has any great ideas there, I'm all ears.

Thanks for reading and listening.

Annette / Nutty

Nutty /Annette
http://www.soundclick.com/atmmusic
Using: Sonar 8 Studio; Band in a Box; PreSonus Firebox; M-Audio Axiom 25; Mics: Audio Technica ATM610, MXL 990/991; M-Audio Studiophile AV 30 Reference Speakers and many guitars

12 Replies Related Threads

Nutty
    RE: Opinions Needed 2008/09/14 22:33:35 (permalink)
    Whoops...that didn't work..the new file...I'll have to redo it and post ASAP.

Sorry..

Nutty Annette

Nutty /Annette