Processing a bass track.

Author
rob.pulman
Max Output Level: -68 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1146
2008/09/22 18:52:36 (permalink)

Processing a bass track.

I've borrowed a Music Man bass, and going to be recording for the first time with a real bass guitar - in my songs I've previously used MIDI for the bass. Obviously, the biggest difference apart from the sound, is the volume changes in the notes (I'm a lead guitarist and finding it difficult to keep an even tone through the track, volume fluctuations mainly)

What's the best starting point once I've got my track recorded? Which effects/compression/eq etc.

Any help would be appreciated.
post edited by rob.pulman - 2008/09/22 18:55:20

Stoojo Music

Dell 2400, XP 1 Gig RAM, Pentium 4 2.8 Ghz, M-Audio 2496, PSR310, LP Custom, Fender Strat, Yam Acoustic, Peavey amps, Zodiac BXP bass

4 Replies Related Threads

SteveStrummerUK
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 31112
    RE: Processing a bass track. 2008/09/22 19:34:51 (permalink)

Hi Rob

With bass guitar you will definitely give yourself fewer problems in the mixing stage if you record with a reasonable amount of compression - in other words, try and get as level an average signal as possible.

I use the word 'average' deliberately - you need to use just enough compression so that the recorded sound doesn't even up the sound so much that the dynamics of the performance are lost.

Once you've got this 'decent' recorded signal to work with, what you do with it effects-wise really depends on what you want in the particular song. EQ is probably the most used tool for bass guitar and often it's what you cut that makes more of a difference than what you boost.

The best advice I can give is to experiment Rob - but to start off, working with a good, well compressed mono, centre-panned bass signal is a good place to start.

Steve

Music:     The Coffee House BandVeRy MeTaL

rob.pulman
    Max Output Level: -68 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1146