MC4 vs. Sonar Home Studio...

Author
mgcain
Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 72
2008/10/12 09:31:09 (permalink)

MC4 vs. Sonar Home Studio...

I'm getting a lot of email from Cakewalk on the availability of Sonar Home Studio. It sounds like a great package, but I am so new to this I don't know what I don't know...What are the "compelling" reasons I want to upgrade to this package over MC4? Is it More and Better Instruments? Easier Interface? More capabilities, and if so, what are they and how do I apply them?

Seems like this digital music world can get extremely complicated in a big hurry, and I design computer software systems for a living! Can someone shed some light for me?

7 Replies Related Threads

Warrenwc
    Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1
    RE: MC4 vs. Sonar Home Studio... 2008/10/12 14:13:17 (permalink)
    Personally, I believe that if you really needed more power, you'd already be looking for something with more capabilities.
    I almost went with a more "Pro" package & am really glad I bought MC4 instead.
    These things can get so complex that you just spend all your time figuring out how to do what should be simple things.
    I'm sticking with MC until it makes me feel limited in some way.
    Just MHO.

Core i7 3.2 Ghz
    Hobbyist
    Guitarhacker
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 24398
    RE: MC4 vs. Sonar Home Studio... 2008/10/12 14:47:49 (permalink)
    As a user of Cake products for many years, and since my return to the digital recording world about a year ago.... I am a user of MC4. The only reason I "upgraded" to MC4 is because my old CWpro 8 Deluxe would not run on XP or Vista. Many here in this forum, have started with MC4 and upgraded to Sonar for one reson or another... more features, more included software goodies, or a case of "GAS"..(gear aquisition syndrome).