How do I check my RAM?/help please

Author
Vhue
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 49
2008/10/12 10:05:12 (permalink)

How do I check my RAM?/help please

Hey,
I've just bought a laptop, a Sony Vaio, and as it came with Vista (home premium) I paid a little extra for the guy in the store to put an extra gb of RAM in it, upgrading from 3 to 4. He meant this was no problem, and it's on my receipt, but it was only a tiny shop, and I've never bought anything there before.

I'm new to Vista, so maybe I'm looking in the wrong place, but the only place I've found any info about existing RAM it says a mere 3070 mb. Maybe, hopefully, that is just what used to be on there? The original approximate 3 gb..? But I can't trust that, and if I paid for something I want to be sure I got it too - I've understood I'll need it to run my sonar program (home st. 7xl) in vista smoothly (I haven't got it yet, so I can' check). Made that clear to the store-guy.

Would someone more computer-able than me be able to put my mind at ease that I don't need to go back complaining? Or indeed if I do. Would be most appreciated. Just where to look to get the right information.

Thanks =)

5 Replies Related Threads

krizrox
    Max Output Level: -35 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 4046
    RE: How do I check my RAM?/help please 2008/10/12 10:36:07 (permalink)
    I can't speak about Vista but on my XP Pro machine it only reports back 3.25GB of RAM. This is being discussed also over on the Sonar forum. I think unless you're running a 64 bit program it will never show more than 3GB or so. Someone correct me if I'm wrong of course.

Larry Kriz
    www.LnLRecording.com
    www.myspace.com/lnlrecording

Sonar PE 8.5, Samplitude Pro 11, Sonic Core Scope Professional/XTC, A16 Ultra AD/DA, Intel DG965RY MOBO, Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4GHz processor, XFX GeForce 7300 GT PCIe video card, Barracuda 750 & 320GB SATA drives, 4GB DDR Ram, Plextor DVD/CD-R burner.
    ew
    Max Output Level: -57 dBFS