flash. When some is going in (like pressing a key on a musical
keyboard) one flash, and when something is being sent to the midi
controller the other flashes. Neither flash when i do anything with
the midi keyboard.
I have ticked EMU 0404 in the in and output of the MIDI Devices menu
in sonar. I can hear MIDI sounds, just can't enter them via a MIDI
controller.
I have also reinstalled the EMU 0404 program and Sonar and i still
have this problem. My cables are going to the correct in and out.
Can anyone help?
Thanks
Chris

Windows XP Pro, EMU 0404 PCI Soundcard, Sonar Home Studio 6, 1.5 GB RAM, AMD 2.0 Ghz processor, 80GB Hard Drive

4 Replies Related Threads

CreatingNoise
    Max Output Level: -58.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1666
    RE: EMU 0404 Midi stopped working 2008/10/17 07:18:24 (permalink)
    Chris,
    I have an EMU04040 also and have been playing with MIDI for the last few weeks. I am no expert though. I don't have a clear answer for your problem. What I wanted to tell you is that my MIDI was a little glitchy and I am not sure why. I hooked up my keyboard to MIDI in on the card one evening and could get no input activity or sound. The funny thing is I had done it before and it worked fine. I had changed no settings that I knew of. I unhooked the keyboard and connected my guitar synth MIDI out to the MIDI in on the 0404 and voila, input activity and sounds. I then switched back to the keyboard and it worked fine then. I used the keyboard to lay down a MIDI track that evening without a problem. Several days later I began to work on some MIDI tracks with the guitar synth hooked up. Every so often, after a track had been laid down, I would stop hearing the triggered sounds. There was still input activity but no sounds. I closed Sonar and reopened it and everything was fine.