Fingerpicking technique

Author
Schlep_Math
Max Output Level: -87 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 167
2008/10/25 14:43:41 (permalink)

Fingerpicking technique

I'm new to fingerstyle / fingerpicking.
I started learning how to do this about 2 months ago.
I'm extremely green when it comes to this stuff. But I've noticed that the things I am learning, regarding finger picking in combination with open tunings, is throwing me far beyond the stages I would have expected.

I know only a percentage of you are going to understand what I'm saying, but since I've learned how to fingerpick, a whole new musical world has opened up to me.
I've always tuned my guitar to strange tunings, then finally settled on open D, (minor)... But the ability to use your fingers independently in such a tuning brings so many opportunities to the fret board. I'd always been a pick guy. I could practically toss my picks in the trash now....

Well, I've been practicing, and although I'm not that good, I'm asking for some folks in here to let me know what I'm doing wrong/right with fingerstyle. I'm providing a video below. If anyone could let me know how to get the notes cleaner and more precise, more definite, I would be hugely appreciative.

Here's something I wrote and recorded on video (on my myspace page):
http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.showvids&friendID=9149120&n=9149120&MyToken=234031e7-a6a8-46ac-897e-96b58b63797d

Go to the vid labeled "Life In A Photograph".

Let me know what I can do to improve.
Thanks,
J.

14 Replies Related Threads

KenJr
    Max Output Level: -76 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 742
    RE: Fingerpicking technique 2008/10/26 01:58:51 (permalink)
    no tricks - practice. you are definitely on the right track...

My Gear/Studio Pics
    My Music

<--Yes, that's a Paul Reed Smith acoustic...and I want one!!
    spacey
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 8769
    RE: Fingerpicking technique 2008/10/26 10:19:57 (permalink)