At What Point Do 'You' Lay Your Vox Tracks?

Author
razor
Max Output Level: -59.5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1557
2008/12/12 18:13:08 (permalink)

At What Point Do 'You' Lay Your Vox Tracks?

Hello--

I've been recording for about 25 years (no, I'm not an old fart--I just started young), and I've been doing the same thing for so long, that I thought I'd consider doing it differently.

"It" is waiting until I've laid all of the instrument tracks before laying the vocal track(s). The reason I used to do that was when I sang the vocals, it "felt" more like I had a band behind me. The reason I still do this, is because that's the way I've always done it.

What I'm considering now is that if I wait to records the vocals until after the instruments are recorded, it will shape the melody of what I compose for the vocals based on the keys and chords of the accompaniment, etc.

I'm trying the lay the vocals on a track I'm working on now where all I have laid is the drums, bass and guitar (rhythm section) but no keys nor harmonies and I felt like the melody of the lyrics I composed were more wide-open.

Of course all of this is subjective, but there are many here that I respect that might have a good insight on this.

Many thanks,

Stephen Davis

Cakewalk by Bandlab
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit
ADK DAW - (out of business 2018)
Intel i7 4930K CPU
Core i7 SB-E MOBO
16 GB DDR3 RAM
7 TB Storage
Layla 3G SoundCard (11.5 ms Roundtrip Latency)
UAD-2 DSP
WaveLab 8 Pro 64-bit 
Sound Forge 10 Pro

24 Replies Related Threads

MatsonMusicBox
    Max Output Level: -73 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 879
    RE: At What Point Do 'You' Lay Your Vox Tracks? 2008/12/12 18:23:17 (permalink)
    I tend to lay a scratch vocal down fairly early ... usually before I send off for real drums or guitar, and also sometimes redo some of my keys to better fit "around" the vocals.

...wicked
    Max Output Level: -1.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 7360