Hello Gang! New to the Forum

Author
Guitarzan54
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 110
2009/02/14 20:44:44 (permalink)

Hello Gang! New to the Forum

As there doesn't appear to be a WELCOME NEWBIES thread/forum I guess I'll just introduce myself here.

I'm very new to all this "at home" recording stuff. Spent all day reading, and playing with the tutorials of my new Home Studio 9....and probably haven't really learned much yet. LOL
My buddy just updated to SONAR (or something like that) and sold me his old CakeWalk 9. It seems very cool, but fairly complicated at this point. I can't wait to actually be able to do anything with it.

I have been playing guitar, drums, bass, keyboards, harmonica....all my life. I've written a bunch of songs that probably only I think are any good (LOL). And I'd like to take a crack at doing all the work. Just once....everything.

He tells me that before I can do anything however - I need to invest in a mixer/pre-amp. Makes sense, but I've only just begun to look into these units. Don't really know what I'm doing.

I'm looking at a ALESIS MultiMix 8USB Mixer with USB and DSP. (I have no clue what DSP is. But I guess I'll find out.)
I choose this unit because, at just $159 bucks, it's certainly in my price range.

If anyone has a better choice I could make I'm open to recommendations.

I got my screen name quite a few years ago because I broke the Guinness Book Of World Records, in Chicago (1986), for LONGEST CONTINUOUS GUITAR PLAYING (I'm not even sure it's a category anymore) for 11 1/2 days straight.
And that's what all the local radio stations were calling me. Then my friends followed suit....and I've kind of adopted it ever sense.

Some guy in England has sense beat me, but I still hold the record in the US.

Well, that's about all I have to say about myself.

Anyway....so glad to have purchased this software cause I never would have known about this site! It seems extremely cool and informative.