Face Book how too?

Author
The Maillard Reaction
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 31918
2009/03/13 08:24:41 (permalink)

Face Book how too?

So it's time to bite the bullet... I've had a personal web gallery page for 10+ years so I've resisted the social network stuff... but now I see there's no way to avoid it... social network sites are a great way to let your friends viral market your artwork.

So I'm just getting started... should I go with a personal page or a "musician" page?

What's the deal with the recent talk about Facebook and copyrights of your posted content... how does that work with your original songs if you post them?

Also is there any way to see Facebook content before you are signed up? I guess some people respond to the exclusive nature of the experience... and are drawn in, but I'm repulsed by it... and find it difficult to sign up for something that's so seemingly secretive.

best,
mike
post edited by mike_mccue - 2009/03/13 08:28:26

10 Replies Related Threads

Monkey23
    Max Output Level: -74 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 848
    RE: Face Book how too? 2009/03/13 09:00:56 (permalink)
    Yeah, Facebook is pretty evil (and lame). I'd abandon it altogether but now all my friends and family write me there instead of e-mailing me so I'm trapped there. Just when I think I'm out, they pull me back in! Avoid it altogether if you can. Can't you use myspace instead? Much better site for musicians.
    The Maillard Reaction
    RE: Face Book how too? 2009/03/13 09:08:16 (permalink)
    Thanks.

Yes I could use Myspace... I never did that either... it seems the hipster crowd here in town has moved on to Facebook.

What do they mean when they suggest that they search your email account for addresses? Does that run an application that scans your computer for your mail app? Or are they asking for the login password of your mail server???

There's a lack of info on their site.

whacky.

best,
    mike

Beagle
    • Total Posts : 50621