Selling art, etc. on eBay?

Author
Susan G
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 12016
2009/03/30 21:22:13 (permalink)

Selling art, etc. on eBay?

Hi All-

A friend of a friend wants help selling some things on eBay. I'm no expert, but I've had some success selling my own stuff, like everybody else in the world. Initially it sounded like she just needed some hand-holding to set up an account, do write-ups, etc.

Turns out she has some possibly quite valuable things to sell, and I'm not sure how to advise her or even if eBay is the best way for her to go.

For example, she has some paintings by an artist (Oscar Anderson) whose work is listed on artnet.com (nothing by him shows up on eBay). I can't see the price for previous sales without paying to access their database, and I know *nothing* about that market.

She also has a book, "I Dream a World" that she did some copy editing on. It was autographed by Rosa Parks when it first came out (1989) and she says it's in mint condition. The book is still widely available, but since this is an autographed first edition it should be worth... more?

She's offered to pay me to get her started, and since I'm currently unemployed I could definitely use the money, but I don't want to give her bad advice. She has some other things that fall into your typical eBay categories, but what do you folks think about the above-mentioned? Is eBay a good choice for those? Just want to take advantage of the collective wisdom here!

Thanks-

-Susan

2.30 gigahertz Intel Core i7-3610QM; 16 GB RAM
Windows 10 x64; NI Komplete Audio 6.
SONAR Platinum (Lexington) x64

9 Replies Related Threads

Guitarhacker
    • Total Posts : 24398
    RE: Selling art, etc. on eBay? 2009/03/30 21:43:16 (permalink)