SLIDE between notes; sustain and release

Author
jmgkettle
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1
2009/07/15 16:40:49 (permalink)

SLIDE between notes; sustain and release

I'm using Home Studio 2004 and acoustic bass patch. I also use Ensoniq EPS keyboard. A few questions...
1) How do I construct a slide between two notes (i.e. A down to D). 2) Can I do this without using my keyboard? If I use my keyboard, how is this done...? with the pitch wheel? my wheel doesn't function too well. whenever I use it it screws up the keyboard's natural tuning.

2) also re: acoustic bass patch. If I want to achieve the equivalent of hitting a string and have it sustain and then decay, what do I do. When I use my keyboard, I'm currently holding down a key for a specified amount of time, but of course this does not achieve what I need. Thanks for your help ! I'm just beginning to understand all the subtleties of the software.

2 Replies Related Threads

Marah
    Max Output Level: -71 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 975
    RE: SLIDE between notes; sustain and release 2009/07/15 18:47:47 (permalink)
    Getting "real" bass articulations from a sampler/synth can be tricky. A lot will depend on the bass part, the style, and so on.

One of the most important factors is the length of the notes. Subtle variations in length can make a huge difference.

Re: pitch bends. The easiest way to do this is with the pitchwheel. (If your pitchwheel is glitchy, you're not gonna have a lot of fun.)

When I've done this in the past, I would usually separate the notes from the bends.