Change recorded Guitar sound?

Author
harryajh
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2
2009/10/03 09:00:49 (permalink)

Change recorded Guitar sound?

apologies in advance if this is a daft question but I'm pretty new to this!

Just bought Guitar tracks pro 4 USB having upgraded from M-Audio Session with Fast Track USB Guitar Recording Package.

I've successfully managed to connect and record a guitar track though the USB device but my question is -

In M-audio I could easily change the guitar type to say for example "heavy rock" or "distorted", can I do the same in GTP 4? - can't find it anywhere!

So basically I want to hear what my track sounds like played with different guitars, amps etc...

Hopefully I've made some sense!

thanks

harry

4 Replies Related Threads

SteveStrummerUK
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 31112
    Re:Change recorded Guitar sound? 2009/10/03 11:21:10 (permalink)

Hi there Harry, and welcome to the forum.

If I understand your question correctly, you've recorded a clean guitar track and you're wanting to apply some effects/modelling to produce something that sounds like it came through an amp.

In GT4, there is just the thing for you - Guitar Rig 3 LE - this is a VST (Virtual Studio Technology) plug-in.

To use it with your recorded track, you have to insert the plug-in into your signal path, similar to inserting a hardware stomp-box externally.

To do this, you'll need to insert Guitar Rig into the track's Effects Bin (FX bin)

There are two ways of accessing the FX bin of a track and adding an effect (NB your VST layout will be different to mine but you should have no problems seeing GR3):

• In the Tracks View:
      • Use the small arrow to expand the EFFECTS section of the track
      • Left click on the plus sign + next to ADD EFFECT (or you can right click in the FX Bin and select Audio FX)
      • From the options available, choose Guitar Rig 3

• In the Console View: