Guitar Capo Frustration

Author
Butch
Max Output Level: -87 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 175
2010/07/19 20:19:43 (permalink)

Guitar Capo Frustration

Hello all,

So, I am a drummer...Trying to play guitar.  I can't bar the chord I want cleanly, so I thought I would use a capo.  Problem is, when I put it on, the guitar goes out of tune.  I tried to tune flat the same amount it was going sharp so that it would be in 440 whith the capo on, but I can't get all the strings in tune exactly...and yes...I'm picky, it needs to be in tune.

So, any suggestions?

Thanks all !

Butch
Let's make some art!

23 Replies Related Threads

The Maillard Reaction
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 31918
    Re:Guitar Capo Frustration 2010/07/19 20:21:58 (permalink)
    Less pressure on the capo.

Is the guitar really adjusted for intonation?

Ron Vogel
    Max Output Level: -69 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1074
    Re:Guitar Capo Frustration 2010/07/19 20:25:18 (permalink)
    Well, yeah; this is pretty common. The stings will slide a little under the capo, but you have to pull on them. Most guitars tend to go sharp. You will need to tune the guitar, put the capo on, then tune each string like you would normally. When you adjust the tuners, you will have to pull the string to slide it under the capo. It'll get in tune, just takes a little longer.

Many capo's require you to put them on tight since they are pretty generic. They usually don't follow the curvature of the fretboard precisely, so you have to overcompensate how hard you lock them down.

I just was using one today myself!
    post edited by Ron Vogel - 2010/07/19 20:27:06

I'm stuck in the past, but my foot's tapping forward 
    Ron Vogel Soundclick page
    MemphisJo
    Max Output Level: -79 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 594
    Re:Guitar Capo Frustration 2010/07/19 20:47:59 (permalink)