Newbie question - No sound in Sonar 8

Author
btech
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 7
2010/07/21 00:14:40 (permalink)

Newbie question - No sound in Sonar 8

Well as it states in the title, I am sure this is an easy question - I just can't seem to figure it out.

I just got Sonar 8 and a Delta 1010LT card from M-Audio.  I have the soundcard working fine in windows through 5/6 output and it seems fine.  When I go to Sonar 8 though I get no sound whatsoever. 

I'm sure this might be a setting - but someone mentioned in a google search that I did that you need to route the card through a midi synthesizer?  I don't have that, or do i...again I'm a big newbie but willing to learn.

Thanks!

4 Replies Related Threads

AT
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 10654
    Re:Newbie question - No sound in Sonar 8 2010/07/21 00:33:57 (permalink)
    Probably better to ask this in the new newbie forum.

But here are some things to think about:

what kind of sound.  If you use the explorer you can drag audio loops into the timeline.  That is the surest way to see if you have sound.  If you are using midi, well, that is merely controller info.  To hear it you have to have a synth.  Think of it as a word processor - you have to print out the words.  That is much too involved to get into right now.

The good news is the Delta is making contact w/ the computer since you have those internal sounds.  Now to figure out if SONAR is making contact w/ Delta.  Just drag some audio into the timeline to see.

@

https://soundcloud.com/a-pleasure-dome
    http://www.bnoir-film.com/  

there came forth little children out of the city, and mocked him, and said unto him, Go up, thou bald head; go up, thou bald head.
    24 And he turned back, and looked on them, and cursed them in the name of the Lord. And there came forth two she bears out of the wood, and tare forty and two children of them.
    fireberd
    Max Output Level: -38 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 3704