Recomandation for videogame music

Author
Scarpelius
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1
2010/07/28 10:32:41 (permalink)

Recomandation for videogame music

Hello,

I would like to make music for my game and i was looking at site, trying to understand what i need and what i don't.
I am interested in software solutions.
The game is a hobby project at this stage so,  I am trying to keep the costs as low as i can.
I saw the Music Creator 5 cost only 34,99$ but i am a noob in this area so i suspect is not going to be enough for what i need.

Could someone tell me if i need more than Music Creator and what?

Many thanks.

5 Replies Related Threads

Beagle
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 50621
    Re:Recomandation for videogame music 2010/07/28 10:37:48 (permalink)
    we would need to know more about what you DO need!

MC5 is a very capable program.  it's main limitations are stereo input recording only (but depending on your soundcard you may be limited to 2 inputs anyway) and 24 per project FX limit and 8 synth limit. 

I would go ahead and buy MC and work with it for a while and if it doesn't meet your needs then you can upgrade to SHS or Sonar.

http://soundcloud.com/beaglesound/sets/featured-songs-1
    i7, 16G DDR3, Win10x64, MOTU Ultralite Hybrid MK3
    Yamaha MOXF6, Hammond XK3c, other stuff.
    Moshkiae
    Max Output Level: -14 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 6111
    Re:Recomandation for videogame music 2010/07/28 15:18:52 (permalink)
    Hi,

I wanted to make a suggestion here ... but since it was beyond software, and it appears the thread was about that, I didn't feel that my suggestion would be as significant.

I do think that MC, Sonar and some of those "popular" programs are more geared to simple/popular music, and that what you might want and need is a bit more extravagant and detailed for your purposes.