Helpful ReplyCan't record or play back audio - MIDI only

Author
cazndave
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2
2010/07/29 18:22:10 (permalink)

Can't record or play back audio - MIDI only

As a complete newbie, I'm having real trouble with Music Creator 3 (blast from the past!)

Everything's connected and set up, and I can record and play back MIDI with no problems.  Audio tracks are a different story as for some reason, I can't even arm the tracks in preparation for recording.  When imported, WAV files (drum loops, etc.) do not play at all.

I'm probably missing something fundamental but it's driving me mad!!!

Any ideas welcome!!
Beagle
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 50621
Re:Can't record or play back audio - MIDI only 2010/07/29 19:16:50 (permalink) ☄ Helpful
we'll need some more info.
what are your computer specs (and particularly what soundcard are you using)?
what operating system are you using?
what are you using for OUTPUT of MIDI that allows it to play?

http://soundcloud.com/beaglesound/sets/featured-songs-1
i7, 16G DDR3, Win10x64, MOTU Ultralite Hybrid MK3
Yamaha MOXF6, Hammond XK3c, other stuff.
cazndave
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2
Re:Can't record or play back audio - MIDI only 2010/08/01 06:46:12 (permalink)
Okey dokey  -  I hope I'm giving the right info:

System - Acer Aspire X3812, Pentium Dual Core CPU, E5400 @ 2.70GHz

Soundcard - Realtek High Definition Audio (?)

MIDI Output - Casio MIDI Keyboard, connected to PC via USB cable

MIDI records with no problem at all as I can arm the tracks, choose the MIDI voice and record to the click track.  When I click on the 'arm' button for audio, it doesn't go red and the track will not arm at all.

Hope that helps!

Dave

Kalle Rantaaho
Max Output Level: -5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 7005
Re:Can't record or play back audio - MIDI only 2010/08/01 08:32:53 (permalink)